Learn more about the Academies of ISD
.:Inspiring Greatness:.

Chris Wiley is named the Classified Employee of the Year and 31 other Employees are also Honored

Thirty two employees are recognized for their hard work and dedication.  Chris Wiley, Recovery Room Interventionist at Thomas Hart Benton Elementary School, was named the Independent School District’s 2012-2013 Classified Employee of the Year.  Chris was selected by a panel of judges from the Independence community.

Leslie Hochsprung, Chris Wiley’s principal said she's watched his tremendous impact on the students.

“Chris Wiley has served as the Behavior Interventionist for two years.  In that short time he has made a big impact on students, staff and families.  Benton staff members recently shared these comments about Chris’s work in the Focus Room:

  • Chris is caring and compassionate when working with every child.  He works tirelessly to ensure that each child has what they need to be successful. 
  • Chris always keeps his cool when kids fall apart. Students often use hurtful words, hands and feet around him, yet he maintains his composure and helps them solve their problem. 
  • Chris manages what sometimes feels unmanageable!  He models grace with accountability.
  • He is a kind, quiet and gentle man.  He has been a blessing to Benton"


In all there were 32 nominees. Building winners who received marble apples and plaques for their schools include:

Chris Wiley                                          Thomas Hart Benton Elementary School

Kellie Bowles                                     Bingham Middle School

Finesa Kent                                        Blackburn Elementary School

Sherry Krefft                                      Bridger Middle School

Gary Bohon                                        Bryant Elementary School

Grichzel Moberly                             Central Office

Lisa Chiles                                            William Chrisman High School

Jason Whitaker                                 Facilities

Darlene McDaniel                            Fairmount Elementary School

Brooke Masters                                Glendale Elementary School

Roberta Jolly                                      Hanthorn

Cindy Woodley                                 Independence Academy

Karen Moddrell                                                Korte Elementary School

Angie Acevedo                                 Luff Elementary School

Kimberly Stewart                             Mill Creek Elementary School

Steve Kent                                          Nowlin Middle School

John Formella                                    Nutrition Services

Sheryl Layton                                     Christian Ott Elementary School

Lori Halsey                                          Pioneer Ridge Middle School

Courtney Brown                               Procter Elementary School

Shad Poore                                         Randall Elementary School

Laura Black                                          Santa Fe Trail Elementary School

Patty Conrad                                      William Southern Elementary School

Bridget Tuala                                      Spring Branch Elementary School

Jerry Grant                                         Sugar Creek Elementary School

Heather Howell                                                Sunshine Center

Connie Daoust                                  Sycamore Hills Elementary School

Eric Eklund                                          Technology

Sheila Harrison                                  Three Trails Elementary School

Stacey Ussery                                    Transportation

Kathy Glasco                                      Truman High School

Robin Rockhold                                 Van Horn High School