Three from the ISD Chosen as Women of Distinction

Posted March 22, 2017

Their careers have spanned decades of serving and mentoring thousands of students and teachers in our community. Congratulations to Ann Franklin, Beth Savidge and Patricia Schumacher, chosen by The Examiner as honorees for the 2017 Women of Distinction Award.

The Women of Distinction Award recognizes local women in business, government, education and not-for profit fields. A panel of business and community leaders chose the honorees based on their accomplishments and community involvement.

Ann Franklin has dedicated four decades of service to education. She currently serves on the Independence School District Board of Education and on numerous committees.  Prior to serving on the Board, she taught for nearly 30 years. As a vocational business teacher and a member of American Business Women’s Association, Franklin worked with area businesses looking to hire qualified high school graduates and worked to understand the needs of the business community to help students find employment. She continues to work tirelessly to ensure the best for students and teachers.

Dr. Beth Savidge joined the Independence School District in 2002, serving as principal at Pioneer Ridge Middle School for seven years before becoming assistant superintendent for K-12 curriculum, instruction and professional development. Dr. Savidge is very active in the Independence community and regularly attends ISD extracurricular events.

After dedicating 32 years to education, including 17 years to the Independence School District, Dr. Patricia Schumacher established a scholarship for graduating high school students who will attend the University of Missouri-Columbia majoring in Education. Dr. Schumacher supports high quality education and is committed to improving the preparation of educators.

The Independence School District is proud of each honoree representing the district and thankful for their countless years of service and dedication to improving education and impacting the lives of students.

Board Member, Ann Franklin, Director  Beth Savidge  Patricia Schumacher