Independence Community Shines at ISD Academy Awards

Posted May 5, 2017

Congratulations to the students, teachers and Industry Partners honored at the First Annual Academy Awards on May 4. The Academy Awards celebrated the hard work and dedication of all involved in the ISD Academies.

Three students from each of the six ISD Academies, including Arts and Education, Business, Industrial Technology, Public Service, STEM and the Freshman Academy were recognized. One student from each Academy was named the Academy Student of the Year. The ceremony also highlighted Academy teachers who go above and beyond to better prepare ISD students for college and careers.

Industry Partners received the Community Engagement Award, recognizing their contributions and continuous support for ISD Academies and students. The industry partnerships help to provide ISD students with the guidance and experiences to excel in their fields of interest.

Congratulations to all award winners and honorees:

Academy Teacher of the Year: Sheri Wheaton, Business Academy
Jason Stacy, Arts & Education Academy
Yvonne Hayes, Freshman Academy
Andrew Smithson, Public Service Academy
Rick Gwinn, Industrial Technology Academy
Debbie Cox, STEM Academy

Arts & Education Academy Student of the Year: Braden James
Cheyenne Golden
Bria Bynum

Business Academy Student of the Year: Shelby Fordham
Anna Diaz
Sam Wimberley

Freshman Academy Student of the Year: Hannah Noel
Lilian Mix
Colby Hendrix

Industrial Technology Academy Student of the Year: Casey Jones
Cole Brock
Ethan Moore

Public Service Academy Student of the Year: Anthony Krantz
Devin Tracy
Isabelle Jaynes

STEM Academy Student of the Year: Lauren Hopkins
Mason Adrales
Connor Jones

Business Person of the Year: Justin Durham, Hollis + Miller
Kim Kluge, KinderCare
Kyla Stoltz, Centerpoint Medical Center
Mo Cisneros, Western Missouri Carpenter’s Training Facility
Alex Murphy, Kansas City Actor’s Theatre
Staff Sergeant Clayton Fidler, Missouri National Guard
Dr. Jason Vollmecke, Vollmecke Chiropractic
Tatia Shelton, MCC Business & Technology

Founders Award Honorees:
Hollis + Miller
Orbital ATK