Back to School Information for 2018-2019

Posted August 2, 2018

We are ready to welcome students back to school! The first day of the 2018-19 school year is August 16. Please take a look at the important information and links listed below to prepare for the new school year:


Online registration for the 2018-2019 school year is underway for new and returning ISD students. Click here to begin the registration process, using the login and PIN you received in the mail. If you have any questions, call our Admissions Office at 816-521-5588. If you are a parent of a kindergarten student and have already completed registration, you don’t need to do anything further at this time. We look forward to welcoming students back into classrooms on August 16th!

Please click here for information on residency affidavits, appropriate proof of residency documents and district residency verification/schedule pick-up locations, dates and times.

Residency Verification:

In order to enroll in the Independence School District, each family must prove residency annually. To prove residency, please bring the following documentation to the elementary, middle or high school Residency Verification Nights on the dates listed below. If you do not have the appropriate documentation, you may be asked to make another appointment so you can provide the documentation before student(s) will be enrolled. Please have a Photo ID with you also to verify the name on the bill matches parent/guardian enrolling student.

  • An electric or gas bill from the current address (no more than 30 days old)

AND one of the following

  • Copy of Mortgage Payment, Deed of Trust, or Housing Contract
  • Copy of Rental Agreement,
  • Copy of Lease Agreement,
  • Copy of Jackson County Paid Personal Property Tax Receipt

Elementary & Independence Academy Schedule/Residency Verification

  • August 6-10
    • Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday — 8:00 am to 3:00 pm
    • Tuesday 8:00 am to 7:00 pm

Middle School Schedule/Residency Verification (Bingham, Bridger, Nowlin, & Pioneer)

  • August 7 – 8:00 am to 7:00 pm

High School Schedule/Residency Verification (Truman, Van Horn, William Chrisman)

  • August 6th, 8th, 9th, 13th, 15th – 8:00 am to 3:00 pm
  • August 7th – 9:00 am to 7:00 pm
  • August 14th – Noon to 3:00 pm

Important Links:

School Supplies

2018-19 Student Calendar

Before and After School Services


In order to register for the 2018-2019 school year, Missouri law requires all students be up-to-date on their immunizations. The Independence School District along with the Jackson County Health Department will offer MCV and TDAP clinics for ISD middle and high school students on the following dates and times:

Tuesday, August 7
9 a.m. – 7 p.m. at Truman High School

Wednesday, August 8
9 a.m. – 12 p.m. at Pioneer Ridge Middle School
1 p.m. – 4 p.m. at Nowlin Middle School

A parent must be present to sign a consent form. If you have insurance, a card is required and the insurance will be billed. It will be free if you don’t have insurance.

Call 816-404-6416 to schedule an appointment with the Jackson County Health Department, and click here to complete your patient registration prior to your appointment.  Find more information on vaccinations here. 

Bus Passes:

Elementary students should receive bus passes in the mail during the week of August 6. Middle and high school students will receive bus passes at residency verification/schedule pick-up.

Click here for additional transportation information.

Elementary Meet the Teacher Night Schedule:

ISD elementary students will have the opportunity to find their classroom, meet their teacher and drop off school supplies on August 14th in preparation for the 2018-2019 school year. Times vary by location:

Benton                                 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
Blackburn                            6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
Bryant                                   5:30 – 6:30 p.m.
Fairmount                           4:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Glendale                              6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
Korte                                    4:30 – 6:00 p.m.
Little Blue                            6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
Luff                                       5:00 – 7:00 p.m.
Mallinson                            5:00 – 7:00 p.m.
Mill Creek                            5:30 – 7:30 p.m.
Ott                                         5:00 – 6:30 p.m.
Procter                                  5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Randall                                 5:00 – 7:00 p.m.
Santa Fe Trail                      6:00 – 7:30 p.m.
Spring Branch                     5:30 – 7:00 p.m.
Sugar Creek                         4:30 – 6:30 p.m.
Sycamore                             5:30 – 7:00 p.m.
Three Trails                         5:00 – 7:00 p.m.
William Southern                5:00 – 7:00 p.m.