Students, Teachers and Community Partners Honored at Academy Awards

Posted April 23, 2021

Congratulations to the students, teachers and Industry Partners honored at the Independence School District Academy Awards on April 22nd. The Academy Awards celebrated the hard work and dedication of all involved in the ISD Academies.

Three students from each of the six ISD Academies, including Arts and Education, Business, Industrial Technology, Public Service, STEM and the Freshman Academy were recognized. One student from each Academy was named the Academy Student of the Year. The ceremony also highlighted Academy teachers who go above and beyond to better prepare ISD students for college and careers.

Industry Partners received the Community Engagement Award, recognizing their contributions and continuous support for ISD Academies and students. The industry partnerships help to provide ISD students with the guidance and experiences to excel in their fields of interest.

Congratulations to all award winners and honorees:

Academy Teacher of the Year: Garrett Gordon, Arts and Education Academy
Matt Simpson, Business Academy
Stephanie Gipfert, Freshman Academy
Billy Diman, Industrial Technology Academy
Joel Sapp, Public Service Academy
Desirae Harrison, STEM Academy

Arts & Education Academy Student of the Year: Nevaeh Robinson, Truman High School
Sarine Eickman, Van Horn High School
Jordan Twenter, William Chrisman High School

Business Academy Student of the Year: Alex Atagi, William Chrisman High School
Cailyn Cordell, Truman High School
Michael Fuentes Maldonado, Van Horn High School

Freshman Academy Student of the Year: Jill Clevenger, Van Horn High School
Samantha Stone, Truman High School
Lillian West, William Chrisman High School

Industrial Technology Academy Student of the Year: Cody Marler, William Chrisman High School
Cain Stine, Truman High School
Jessie Knutter, Van Horn High School

Public Service Academy Student of the Year: Bank Daniel, William Chrisman High School
Kari Pillinger, Truman High School
Katelina Harris, Van Horn High School

STEM Academy Student of the Year: Jersey Lynn, William Chrisman High School
Laisha Robles Chavez, Truman High School
Antonio Carrillo, Van Horn High School

New Business Partner of the Year: Automatic Systems Inc. and Truman Heritage Habitat for Humanity

Business Partners of the Year: 
Arts and Education – Lori Smart, Sunrise Montessori
Business – Chef Wesley Boston, Worlds of Fun
Industrial Technology – Bob Quirk, Morgan Miller Plumbing
Public Service – Mayor Mike Larson, City of Sugar Creek
STEM – Stephanie Taylor, West Central Missouri AHEC