BOARD OF EDUCATION The School District of Independence

The Board of Education met in regular session Tuesday, May 12, 2009, at 6:00 p.m. in the Large Classroom at George Caleb Bingham Middle School, 1716 South Speck Road, Independence, Missouri.

Members Present: Mr. Ken Johnston, Vice President

Mrs. Ann Franklin, Treasurer Mrs. Susan Jones, Director Mrs. Jana Waits, Director Mr. Ira Anders, Director Dr. Matt Mallinson, Director

Member Absent: Mr. Blake Roberson, President

Also Present: Dr. Jim Hinson, Superintendent

Dr. Henry Russell, Dr. Brian Mitchell, Mr. Dred Scott, Ms. Sandi Kiehne, Dr. Ed Streich, Dr. Beth Savidge, Mr. Jason Dial, Dr. Gloria Stephenson, Mrs. Claudia Ketterlin, Dr. Gary Hogue, Mr. Dale Herl, Mrs. Elizabeth Streich, Ms. Kelly Evenson of *The Examiner*, interested patrons and staff, and Mrs. Annette Miller.

A moment of silence was observed for children that have been victims of child abuse or neglect.

The meeting was called to order by the Vice President, Mr. Ken Johnston, and minutes of the meeting were recorded by the secretary, Mrs. Annette Miller.

Ira Anders made the motion to approve the May 12, 2009 Agenda as printed. The motion was seconded by Jana Waits and unanimously approved by the Board of Education.

The motion was made by Susan Jones to approve the May 12, 2009 Consent Agenda as printed.

Minutes - regular meeting April 14 and Special Session April 27, 2009 as printed Approval of May 12, 2009 List of Bills totaling \$5,989,090.55 Personnel Recommendation #41.

- A. Resignation of Certificated Staff Effective End of the 2008-2009 School Year.
 - 1. Joe Heerman, Business/William Chrisman High School
 - 2. Kelly Peterson, English/William Chrisman High School
 - 3. Gina Hager, Science/William Chrisman High School
- B. Employment of Certificated Staff for the 2009-2010 School Year.
 - 1. Avanti McDowell, Special Education Teacher
 - 2. Katie Clawson, Middle School Math Teacher
 - 3. Christina McEntee, Special Education Teacher
 - 4. Ashley Lang, Special Education Teacher
 - 5. Sara Eggers, Speech Language Pathologist
 - 6. Susan Campbell, Speech Language Pathologist
 - 7. Sarah Ebright, Art Teacher
 - 8. Cynthia Lamas, Spanish Teacher
 - 9. Jessica Berger, Special Education Teacher
 - 10. Raul Salmon, Special Education Teacher
 - 11. Sarah Brown, Speech Language Pathologist
 - 12. Michael Oglesby, Science Teacher
 - 13. Jeffrey Tempel, Social Studies Teacher
 - 14. Shannon Logan, Kindergarten Teacher
 - 15. Katie Hollenberg, Speech Language Pathologist
 - 16. Joey Doering, Speech Language Pathologist
 - 17. Matthew Bannon, Secondary Science Teacher
 - 18. Sharon Slater, Secondary English Teacher

- 19. Nicholas Middleton, Middle School English Teacher
- 20. Elizabeth Ash, Elementary Classroom Teacher
- 21. Nancy Kuhlmann, Middle School English Teacher
- 22. Rolla Wells, Jr., Business Education Teacher
- 23. Emily Shelor, Elementary Music Teacher
- 4. Approval to Purchase Two (2) Vehicles from Midway Ford Truck Center Replacing vehicles as part of

the maintenance rotation program for the School District.

5. Approval to Accept the Bid for Floor Tile for Restrooms at Van Horn High School – This renovation

project is part of the Summer 2009 maintenance schedule.

The motion was seconded by Ann Franklin and unanimously approved by the Board of Education.

Dr. Hinson stated that the bills list consisted of routine District expenses; the budget for vehicle replacement is on a rotation cycle as the District uses the IRS rate for mileage reimbursement and a vehicle is being traded in also; and replacement of floor tile in the restrooms at Van Horn High School is part of the facilities ten year renovation and maintenance program.

Under the Superintendent's Report - Dr. Hinson reminded the Board of Graduation ceremonies on Sunday, May 17th. He announced Project Shine – the next phase in sprucing up schools is scheduled for July 18-19 at William Chrisman, Van Horn, Nowlin, Bridger, and Korte (Randall may be included). This will consist of painting, cleaning windows, and landscaping. He said that "when schools gleam - kids beam." He reported that Federal Stimulus education money in the amount of \$5.8 million is designated to be used for Title I and Special Education areas only.

Dr. Hinson introduced and welcomed two new administrators that will be joining the District on July 1st: Dale Herl, Deputy Superintendent; and Dr. Gary Hogue, Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources.

Jana Waits made the motion, second by Ann Franklin, for the Board of Education to approve the employment of the 2009 Summer School Staff as presented. The motion was unanimously approved by the Board of Education. (Pages 102 -) Dr. Hinson reported that approximately 7,800 students are currently enrolled and the District anticipates an enrollment between 8,000 and 8,500 students. Additional instructional staff may be needed.

Dr. Lee explained that every year teachers submit their plans to the Career Ladder committee, composed of their peers, who review and approve each individual plan. This year 531 plans were approved compared to 482 from last year which indicates approximately 50 additional plans were approved.

Ira Anders made the motion to approve Career Ladder for 2008-2009, Stages I, II, and III, as presented. The motion was seconded by Ann Franklin and was unanimously approved by the Board of Education. Pages (10276-10280)

Dr. Hinson provided an update on the Independence Regional Entrepreneurial/Incubator Center. He stated that the official announcement of the project had been made and that at the ICED Luncheon on May 15, he will make a presentation on this project. He stated that David Edwards had made a request and is waiting for approval to receive and use Brownfield Tax Credits in for the removal of the old hospital area of the building. A number of additional tenants have contacted Mr. Edwards regarding their needs for space in the Entrepreneurial Center. The Administration is reviewing which programs will utilize the 90,000 square feet of space that the District will use. A meeting has been scheduled for Friday with a health care provider that would like to be housed at this site. The Administration will keep the Board informed as progress occurs.

Dr. Hinson discussed several pending legislative bills: 1) the State budget has been passed, but this doesn't mean any additional money for the District; 2) the transportation level of funding will increase based on the need but this will not be beneficial to our District; 3) the State is using stimulus funds to offset the state deficit; and 4) we will need to monitor the Proposition C (sales tax monies) fund. There does not seem to be anything of significance passing that will benefit the district. The removal of the 5%

cap on the Foundation Formula would be helpful. A Legislative Forum is scheduled for Friday, May 22, 8:00 a.m. at the Independence Chamber of Commerce office.

Matt Mallinson made the motion, second by Ann Franklin, at 6:32 p.m. to adjourn the meeting and go into executive session for legal, real estate, and personnel issues. The motion was approved by the Board of Education as follows:

Ayes:	Ken Johnston	Absent: Blake Roberson
	Ann Franklin Susan Jones Jana Waits Ira Anders Matt Mallinson	
Secretary		Vice-President