Eric Knipp

Eric Knipp is very active in the Independence community, serving on the Independence Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, the Santa Cali Gon Festival Committee, Rotary Club of Eastern Independence Board of Directors and as an Eagle Scout coordinator. He is honored to bring his dedication and love for Independence to the ISD Board of Education. Eric, his wife Amy, and their two children all graduated from the Independence School District. Voters elected Eric to serve a six-year term in 2018.

Blake Roberson

Vice President
Blake Roberson has the longest tenure of any current ISD board member, serving for 14 years. He proudly attended ISD schools and graduated from Truman High School in 1971. Blake has been in the insurance industry for 35 years.  He has also been married to his wife Sandy for 35 years. Their three children attended the ISD from kindergarten to graduation. Like their father, all three graduated from Truman. Roberson is very active in the Independence community, serving on the Independence Council for Economic Development and the board of the Sunshine Center. Voters elected Blake to serve a six year term in 2020.

Carrie Dixon

Carrie Dixon is an active member in the community and has served in numerous leadership positions, including PTA President at William Southern, Independence Council of PTA’s Co-President and Resource Development Chair on the Missouri State PTA Board of Managers. Two of her three children graduated from ISD schools and her youngest is a student in the district. She and her husband Mike lead the Salvation Army’s Three Trails Camp and Retreat Center. She says that has fueled her passion for child advocacy, which she looks forward to bringing to her role with the ISD Board of Education. Voters elected Carrie to serve a six year term in 2018.

Jill Esry

Jill is very giving of her time, serving on several boards including with Truman Heritage Habitat for Humanity, Englewood Arts, and Child Abuse Prevention Association (CAPA). She is most proud of her time on the Independence PTA, serving as president at Sycamore Hills Elementary and Bridger Middle School. Her husband Bill works in finance and is active in the Heart of America Council of the Boy Scouts of America. Jill, Bill, and their two daughters graduated from Truman High School. In addition to her duties as a board member, Jill has been a member of the district negotiating team for eight years. Voters elected Jill to serve a six year term in 2022.

Denise Fears retired from the Independence firm of Fears Case-Harmon & Associates after working there as a managing partner for more than 25 years. She became a CPA in 1992 and worked in her career for more than three decades. Denise graduated from Horton High School in Kansas, and she and her husband Jared, a Chrisman High School graduate, raised their three children here in Independence. Their kids also graduated from Truman. Denise served as treasurer for many years on the board of the Child Abuse Prevention Association (CAPA) and currently serves on the Community of Christ World Church Finance Board, helping to oversee the finances for the Community of Christ Church worldwide. Voters elected Denise to serve a second-six year term in 2020.

Greg Finke

Greg Finke became a member of the ISD Board of Directors in 2012 and plans to be involved with the ISD for years to come. He and wife Mindi have two young sons attending school in the ISD. Greg graduated from Truman High School. He was a financial advisor with Stewardship Capital for more than a decade. When he is not working or fulfilling his school board obligations, he serves on the boards of the Truman Heartland Community Foundation and the Rotary Club of Independence. Voters elected Greg to serve a six year term in 2018.

Anthony J. Mondaine

Anthony J. Mondaine’s involvement in the Independence community runs deep. He is a member of the first graduating class of Van Horn High School after its annexation in 2009. Mondaine is an ordained minister, serving as a local pastor in the community for the last six years. As the current treasurer of the Jackson County Children’s Services Fund, Mondaine assists in supporting crisis intervention and providing important resources to families in need. Voters elected Anthony to serve a six year term in 2022.